I Am So Sick Of Passwords

Passwords. I can’t wait until the next big thing comes in the world of passwords. I must have three dozen freakin passwords that I need to remember, and that’s just for me. I have hundreds of clients, whose passwords I remember too.

I hate that I “get into work” in the mornings (which I quoted because I work from home) and I have to put in my password to log into my computer (which hoenstly, I bypassed, but for the sake of this rant, just humor me). Then I have to log into three applications for work. Then I have to log into servers.

Not to mention the things that I don’t do ALL the time. Like, checking the bank account, or going to BaceFook. I recognize the need for a strong password and account security and what not, but there’s gotta be an easier way to do this.

The very worst part is things like when you call someone, and you have to key in your account number. Then your birth date, then your account password, then you talk to someone, and the f*cking ask you for it again! Of course the damned account number is forty digits long, and made up a combination of only C D B E G P T and 3. And they have voice recognicion software, so you speaking it. clearly and slowly. ”

“B….3….D…C…T….E…4….2…..D….T….C….T….*. 

Did you say” P…3..” 

“NO!” 

“I’m sorry. Please try again, speak the number slowly and clearly. when you’re fini” 

and you try to cut the machine off, because you know what it’s going to say, and you’re not interested in wasting any more of your time…. but it doesn’t work so it comes in on the “C”… and you’re wrong again.

“I’m sorry. I still didn’t get that. Please try again, speak the number slowly and clearly” and now you seethe while waiting for it to finish. “when you’re finished, please press star. Start speaking now. BOOOP”

“B! 3! D! C! E…. AH crap!!~ *

“I’m sorry you’re having trouble, please wait while I transfer you to an attendant.”

“Well good! That’s all I wanted!”

“I’m sorry I didn’t catch that. Did you say start over?”

By then, you’re (…well, I’m) ready to strangle whomever is unlucky enough to get my call. And then they answer and ask you all that same crap already.

Only time that whole thing goes worse, is when you’re in the car, or you have your young kids with you, and they’re talking. …or both.

Here’s another one… They (the experts, you know) REQUIRE at least a password of 8 characters, there must be a number, and a special character, and a mixture of upper and lower case.

Well, far be it from me to fly in the face of standard convention. My main password is over 20 digits long (which you could imagine may have something to do with how I’m so sick of passwords.) so I generally use just that some one for most of my low-importance stuff… Pandora, and Netflix sorts of things.

Ironically enough though, Microsoft does not support such a complex password. Microsoft. You know, the guys who make everything? I can’t use that password for my Live passport (or whatever the hell it’s called these days). I can’t use it for my xbox live account, and Windows 8 allows you to use those accounts to log into Windows… But that password is just to damn complex for Microsoft. God knows, you don’t need THAT much security on your business applications.

I host a website (that you’re reading now) which REQUIRES me to have a password that is more complex than Microsoft can apparently accommodate. And this website software (WordPress) was free for me to download.

I’ll leave you with just another thought, and perhaps a word of wisdom… If you didn’t change your password on your home wireless router, you are asking for trouble. If someone can get onto your wireless by typing in “admin”, then they have your home network.

If you don’t know how to do this, post a comment, I’ll point you in the right direction.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
8 thoughts on “I Am So Sick Of Passwords

  1. Do you have to deal with any DoD web sites? Their rules require the same upper/lower case, special characters, eight digits minimum length and THEN the bastards demand you change the password every 90 days. I don’t use any DoD web sites any longer, I do all my bid’niz with them via phone. Waiting for 20 minutes in the queue is a helluva lot less frustrating, believe it or don’t.

    • I don’t, although we used to host our servers in DoD building… it was basically an old air craft hangar converted into a server farm. 1/3 of the building was Department of Defense servers, another 1/3 was actually MCI’s backbone, and the remaining 1/3 was space they rented commercially.

      The building was down a two mile long dirt road that was gated at the start. You checked in at the camera, they verified your name, and let you in. They told you not to drive faster than 20 miles an hour.

      You drove down this dirt road, imagining how easily they could put a bullet in you (with whatever high powered sniper rifle you were sure they had trained on you) before you could get there.

      You finally approach the hangar, park around the other side of this HUGE window-less structure. In the center, there’s a small cement stoop with a solid metal door above which hangs a very basic light, and a camera.

      You are then scrutinized again for your name and account.

      They let you in, you do a finger print scan AND a hand bone density scan. You’re handed an old 90’s style cordless telephone, and you’re told “Cell phones do not work here. If you need anything, you can call the front desk ONLY from this phone.

      And if you thought you were going to take pictures of your servers for your documentation, you can forget it. We pulled out our (at the time) flip phone to take a quick picture, and immediately the man behind the curtain got on the bull horns, and told is to put it away.

    • I get complaints all the time about the passwords I require my clients to use, but they’ll be the first to hang me if I don’t, and they get hacked.

    • Hello Keith, thanks for stopping in. I agree completely, though without that I get quickly sick of the spam comments…

      That said, there should be a way to tell your internet browser to remember you.

Leave a Reply

