I Always Show Up Late

Have you ever arrived for something just before it was over, or flipped to a channel right when the show you were looking for was ending, or just missed open bar? Got to the store and realized the sale you were hoping to catch ended yesterday? That seems to be the story of my life…

High school, Freshman year, it was explained to me that to graduate, you had to take two years of one language consecutively. I chose German. I took a year of German, and that was the last year it was ever taught at Brookline High. I then had to start over and take something else… I’d have been done with my requirement by Junior year, but instead, I wasn’t done until I was a senior. I now know very, very few words of German, and I think my resentment at having to take Spanish at all translated into bad grades, and an even weaker skill in Spanish than I still have in German.

My very first “real” job, I started at the age of 19. Fridays were very, very laid back, and the owner would walk around the office with a couple of 30 packs of beer handing them out. Naturally, I wouldn’t participate cause I was only 19… obviously. I mean, duh. But uh, anyway, they’d say “Oh yeah! We’ve been doing this for YEARS! so anyway, that lasted perhaps a month after I started.

That same job, they had unlimited over time, you worked it, you claimed it, you got paid. That too ended about three months or so into that job.

There were bonuses too. Of course, right after I started, I got one bonus, and people said “Wow, these bonuses are a lot less than they used to be…” after that, the company didn’t make a profit for several years, so there were no bonuses.

My next job, ALSO had “great profit sharing” and hadn’t gone a year without a profit for twenty years or something! …until the year I started.

At that job, I got an FSA account, which if you’re not familiar with it, I recommend you get familiar with it… I got to put $2,000 on it, pretax and use it for out of pocket medical, and even get things like deoderant, and toothpaste and what not… I used it for a year, and the laws changed… No more simple spending with the card for most things, but you coudl submit them as expenses by faxing your recipts… That also went on for a year…

The next job, the one I have now, I spent two years with an FSA account, limit of $5,000! My wife and I got new glasses and prescription sun glasses and dental work, etc. every year. NOW, the law is changed again, and the max is $2,500… Jeez!

Recently, I developed an interest in a racing game for the Xbox called “Forza”. Version 4 is out, and has been for a while. A friend of mine had it, and I wanted to play it with him online, so while at Target (getting some late Christmas shopping done) I saw that it was there for $40. However, the next version (Forza: Horizon) was also there, and for a limited time, it TOO was $40, instead of the $60 it was normally. I was two days from payday, so after payday, my wife went to grab 4 for me… However, it was sold out, so she instead bought Horizon for both me AND my friend. I figured “Meh, $80… Okay, not such a big deal.” Naturally though, the sale had ended, and they were back to $60 when she bought them.

A few months ago, I took a gun safety course, and planned on applying for my permit to carry… I dragged my feet, and now there’s all this gun related discourse. I’m not likely to be impacted, I’m not really looking to get assault rifles, or anything… But wouldn’t it figure, right when I start paying attention to something, it seems like it just goes to hell!

Keep your fingers crossed that I never have to apply for unemployment or social security or something, cause that’ll be when those institutions implode.

Enhanced by Zemanta
10 thoughts on “I Always Show Up Late

  1. Bawahahaha. Well, I don’t know about the gun thing. The Prez signed a whole bunch of Executive Orders and no one seemed inclined to share precisely what was on them. However, there were over 30 of them (I think). My (limited) understanding is that NY has already put a Gun Law into place requiring gun owners who have any weapon that is now considered “High Capacity” to sell them to another owner out of state within a specified time frame (unknown to me, but I am sure will be VERY known to all gun owners). High Capacity is now considered 7 rounds. 10 rounds is now the legal limit in NY (I think) or it might be 7, not sure which number they went with as their max capacity for legal ownership. Apparently about half of the states are planning similar Gun Laws. Now, if you are already a gun owner, that could be a real kick in the behind. If you just bought a pistol and it has a 12 round magazine, that would suck Big-Time. It is a handgun, not an assault rifle. It is a difference of 2 rounds. But, the government could confiscate it or jail you. Nice. Now, what could possibly be in those other 30 Executive Orders? Eventually, there will be so many laws it will be impossible NOT to break one. And that is when Atlas would shrug.

    ~Robin

    http://yourdailydose-robin.blogspot.com/

    • I’m not entirely clear on it either. I know a guy who is affected by it, and from what he was saying, basically high capacity magazines would be illegal… but he also said that a buyer could not buy more than one high capacity item within a 30 day period… so if he bought a gun (high capacity, he’d said, but I don’t know if that was a mistake?) he would not be able to buy a second magazine for the next 30 days or something like that…

      He also said that another part of the law made armor piercing rounds illegal… which he then said, the general public can’t purchase anyway… Sorta underscoring the fact that the people who make gun laws know nothing about guns.

      • What is “funniest” about this entire thing is that all of this talk of Gun Control and more gun laws has only led to more Gun Sales. I just wrote a blog about this very thing. There was a Gun Show where I live and they reported it on the evening news. One vendor said that our President was the best gun salesman ever. I about hurt myself laughing.

        Anyway, on a different note, I dedicated something to you on my HERE’S TO YOU THURSDAY post (today). I hope you like it:

  2. Bawahahaha. Well, I don’t know about the gun thing. The Prez signed
    a whole bunch of Executive Orders and no one seemed inclined to share
    precisely what was on them. However, there were over 30 of them (I
    think). My (limited) understanding is that NY has already put a Gun Law
    into place requiring gun owners who have any weapon that is now
    considered “High Capacity” to sell them to another owner out of state
    within a specified time frame (unknown to me, but I am sure will be VERY
    known to all gun owners). High Capacity is now considered 7 rounds.
    10 rounds is now the legal limit in NY (I think) or it might be 7, not
    sure which number they went with as their max capacity for legal
    ownership. Apparently about half of the states are planning similar Gun
    Laws. Now, if you are already a gun owner, that could be a real kick
    in the behind. If you just bought a pistol and it has a 12 round
    magazine, that would suck Big-Time. It is a handgun, not an assault
    rifle. It is a difference of 2 rounds. But, the government could
    confiscate it or jail you. Nice. Now, what could possibly be in those
    other 30 Executive Orders? Eventually, there will be so many laws it
    will be impossible NOT to break one. And that is when Atlas would
    shrug.

    ~Robin

Leave a Reply

