*Whew* …Made it!

It’s been some time since I’ve bothered to set word to “paper” (in this case, browser) here, what with all the giving of thanks, rubbing of things in the faces of mistaken ancient harbingers of doom,   followed by amassing of debt and giving of stuff… Kind of a lot has happening in that time too.

On the home front, things have been pretty much in line with what one might expect a house with wife-who-works-nights, kids-of-7-and-3, dog-who-barks-at-own-shadow, mother-in-law, and work-from-home-computer-geek-dad would experience. Kids got toys, made life loud and exciting for a few days, got used to their toys are are now “bored”. Wife has been training for a new job, still in health care, but sleep medicine, rather than elderly care. Dad has played a lot of X-box.

Lots of stuff I wanted to blog about, and still do (and will) such as talks of gun control, and my opinions thereof… but it never really seemed like something I wanted to dwell on. The shooter in CT has gotten way to much exposure as it is, and although I was really quite shaken by all that, and my heart aches for the vicitims and their families, what’s a little blog post from me going to do for them? I thought a “Happy New Year” or a “Merry Christmas, That’s Right, I Said CHRISTMAS, and I don’t Care If You Like It Or Not” post or something like that would have been more appropriate. …alas, I didn’t do either of those either.

To be entirely honest, I’ve never been much of a fan of the holidays. I know everyone thinks that’s horrible and what not, but it’s true. It’s an awful lot of work, commotion, inconvenience, money, frustration, feelings of inadequacy, and disappointment in that I can never get people the kinds of things I wish I could… Compounded by the fact that commerce masks blatant price gouging and crap stuff as a way to show your love… Sure, it’s about love and human spirit and good will towards others! What better way to express that than buying someone a brick of gold, or a new car!

Frankly, I wish I could get bricks of gold for people or new cars, but the fact is, I can’t… And I hate when I get gifts that completely cast a shadow on the gifts I give… I realize it makes the other person feel good to give gifts like that, but it makes me feel pretty worthless…

…not that that really happened THIS year, but in years past, I have really wanted to poke a few people in the eye for their generosity.

And to top it all off, I have to endure the damned music that goes with the season. Endlessly happy and triumphant. Such a wonderful time! Who couldn’t love this season!? Only angry fuzzy green muppets and old misers, both of whom change their minds at the end of the story!

I did enjoy watching my kids enjoy it of course, and I was happy I could actually do better this year than I have in years past, (passed?) but I still wish I could have given more / better. As it is, I still have things to buy for the friends / family I’ve yet to get together with, and I will, but I may have to put them off until mid-month… I’m sure they’d say “Oh, don’t worry about it, I don’t care about getting anything!” …which only makes me more irritable. Perhaps they really don’t care about receiving  That’s not what bothers me… They just want to give, right? Well so do I.

I do get some measure of comfort knowing that my embarrassment and depression made them feel good. Just the kind of civic-minded kinda guy I am.

Wow, that turned into a rant pretty quick. Just so you’re aware, I’m not in any bad frame of mind, or anything… I’m doing alright, just a gripe I’ve had for years that sorta snowballed as I set it down atop of the hill of blogging subject material, there…

Anyway, I thought I’d throw something up here to make sure everyone is aware I’m still alive and well, and I hope you can say the same? How was your break? Get anything good? Give anything you were particularly proud of giving?

To lighten the mood, I thought I’d share something I saw on BookFace earlier this week that I found pretty darned funny. Enjoy! Push button receive bacon

2 thoughts on “*Whew* …Made it!

  1. You crack me up dude. Even when you’re probably not meaning to. Good to see you are still breathing and all though. For the record, I agree with most of what say here. So I guess we are both Christmas grumps of a sort. Glad to hear from you Matt. Hope there is more on the horizon.

Leave a Reply

