Blog Lovin Dot Com

English: This icon, known as the "feed ic...

I’ve been meaning to post this for quite a while…I have been blogging now for quite some time. I started on Blogger.com and gained a fair number of “followers” who connected to me via the Google “Friend Connect” widget. I stayed in Blogger for quite a while, and loved the list of blogs I follow.

Eventually (and quite obviously) I tested out WordPress, and found it more to my liking. I was also told you could create a Google Friend Connect widget for it, so you wouldn’t lose your followers… I found out after I moved that this was no longer the case. Google no longer offered that, in favor of forcing everyone to use Google Plus and just get a badge… which I did, but I have to say, it’s not as effective.

For some time, I kinda struggled trying to keep track of all the blogs I like to read. I used book marks, but it sorta became one of those Out of Sight, Out of Mind type of things… I played with Google Reader, but didn’t like that I couldn’t comment right there. I kept my google account for blogger blogs, and my WordPress account for WordPress blogs… I tried to subscribe via email to everything, but the flood of emails was little crazy too…

I was turned onto bloglovin.com by a fellow blogging friend, Nicole. I highly recommend you go visit and follow her in whatever means you use to follow blogs.

Bloglovin.com is not specific to any blogging platform. WordPress, Blogger, LiveJournal, TypePad, etc… If the blog has an RSS feed, (which almost everything does!) then you can follow it there. You can just search for the URL of the blog you want to follow (mattconlon.com for example!) and it will find it, and offer it as an option. Just follow it.

You can log into bloglovin.com and manage your reading there, or opt to get an email each evening with the days posts. That’s what I do, I get an email each night around 11pm, and it’s there for me in the morning with all the new posts from the last 24 hours.

I found when I went to WordPress, although I enjoyed the blogging experience more, I lost a lot of regular readers. I believe it has to do with feeling like they’re stuck with just the blogger (or WordPress) following system. Bloglovin.com brings it all together.

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 thoughts on “Blog Lovin Dot Com

  1. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.real property attorneys

    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one these days

Leave a Reply

