Windows Live Account Temporarily Blocked

Well…

I’m about to write a fairly long post, that I wrote yesterday, and somehow in the process of publishing, I seemed to have smurfed it all up, it published, and was blank… I was a little to frustrated yesterday to type it all up again, so I waited until now. I’m only irritated now. If my blog disappears though, you’ll know it happened again.

So…

I upgraded to Windows 8, and Office 2013. Both of these products can integrate with Windows Live accounts. This affords you the ability to tie your Hotmail, your Xbox account, your Skydrive and so on into your Windows experience. Word and Excel and other office products offer you the ability to save your documents straight out to the cloud in your Skydrive, which I found helpful.

Another thing about it that kind of excited me was the idea that eventually we could all have “roaming profiles” which means you log into one computer with your windows live account, make changes, and when you log into a different computer, those changes will be there as well. It’s not quite how it works right now, but I bet dollars to donuts that in the next five or so years, that’ll be a reality.

At any rate, somehow I got my account blocked. When I try to log in, I get a message that says “We’ve detected suspicious activity on your account, so for your protection we’ve temporarily blocked it.”

Now, being in IT, I’ve seen this sort of thing before. Something gets goofy and companies would rather block the account, and ask questions alter, to prevent the loss of data or wanton abuse of a service, etc. Not a big deal I figured. I went to the account.live.com and tried to log in. Sure enough “Your account has been temporarily blocked. Please contact support.” and a “Continue” button. I figured that’d bring me to the place to fix it.

I clicked continue, and came to a page that had a list of 6 or 8 error messages, each one a link. I clicked on the link “Your account has been temporarily blocked”, and it brought me back to the previous page. /blink.

I clicked continue again, same links… click the link again, same previous page. Back and forth.

I did some research in the problem via google, and it seems to be a pretty common problem. People locked out of their account, with no explanation, and no idea what to do about it.

I made a post a few days ago about getting technical support via Twitter, and mentioned that this is what I was doing… I haven’t gotten a resolution just yet, and I’ve tweeted back and forth a few times now. They’ve “escalated” my problem twice now, but at least I’m hearing back from someone on it, instead of just getting stuck in a loop and spinning my wheels.

Again, I can’t stress enough how useful twitter is when looking for support. The next time you’re having trouble with something on the web, check out twitter and search for the problem. I bet you’ll be pleasantly surprised!

7 thoughts on “Windows Live Account Temporarily Blocked

    • Hi Becky,

      …I haven’t yet… I was emailed by the escalations team and they said that it was blocked because of abuse, so email abuse@hotmail.com… So I did, and I got an email from hotmail thanking me for reporting something as spam… or something.

      I’m thinking they gave me the wrong email account to send to. So I tweeted @mshelps again, and they said my best bet would be to email mshelps@microsoft.com again and request a status update… again.

      And wait 2 to 4 business days.

      I’m ready to just call it quits and do everything through gmail.

      • It’s just so weird – I have no idea what I have done, and am trying to find a contact email/number/ANYTHING (!!) to find out why it’s been blocked. It’s such a pain, as I think I had Amazon e-certificates! I followed the steps, and now they are saying they can’t verify the information I gave them!!

        I might try emailing the above addresses and see where it gets me!

      • I know, it’s infuriating. I keep feeling like they’re sending me on goose chases, keeping me wondering so that I don’t flee the country for some copyright violation I made by accident or something.

        Keep expecting the authorities to show up and explain to me in person what’s going on…

      • I will keep you informed of my progress too – I have emailed both address above so we shall see what happens!

    • Hello! I had to fill in an additional form from someone at MS – it was nice to have an email from a person rather than a generic one! I have been told that my problem has been escalated and should hear back within 24-48 hours which was yesterday, I am not holding my breath but it’s something.

      Did they tell you why they blocked your account? I have asked repeatedly but am still waiting an answer!

Leave a Reply

