Pet Peeves 2.0

A couple of months ago, I posted about my pet peeves, and I’ve through of another, so I thought I’d share. Nothing helps a pissy mood like spreadin’ it around, eh?

I get irritated when I see people litter. Whether it’s blatantly throwing trash out of your window, or if you try to quietly sneak it behind you and make it look like you had nothing to do with it. I once road the commuter rail and the fellow sitting directly across from me was enjoying a soda and a little grab bag of chips. He put his soda bottle, now empty on the window ledge, and finished his chips. This guy didn’t try to hide it, nor did he spend any extra energy doing it. He didn’t put the bag on the window ledge, he didn’t put it on the seat, or the floor or hide it… He simply stopped holding the bag. Like, the bag no longer held his interest and he immediately forgot about it, erased it from his mind. one hand went into his pocket, and the other reached for his phone to see what time it was.

I did gently remind him that he forgot his soda as he was leaving, and he did feign innocence, and turn and get it, but I can’t say I got any real satisfaction out of that. He would do it all again tomorrow, no doubt. I wished (and still do) that I’d called him out in front of everyone, not only for polluting our shared space, but for being so utterly lazy that he couldn’t spare the few extra newtons of force it would take to carry his trash out onto the platform and just stop holding it over a trash bin. It wasn’t too heavy to carry onto the train and manipulate while devouring it, and now there’s less mass to deal with.

5 thoughts on “Pet Peeves 2.0

  1. Amen! Can’t stand litter. The worst involves cigarette butts (forgive me dear friend Suldog [who smokes] for saying this). But, seriously, nothing irks me more than standing at the bus stop and feeling something under my shoe to find I stepped on a cigarette butt. And no matter where I stand, they’re scattered all over the place.

  2. I’ll admit to the cigarette butt thing, but if public ashtrays were as ubiquitous as they once were, I would use one more often, as I’m sure some others would. In some regard, the anti-smoking folk are responsible for some of that litter. And I’ll further say that cigarette butts are biodegradable (excluding those idiotic brands with some sort of plasticized filter.) Still, no excuse, really, and I apologize and will attempt to think more of my fellow denizens when I finish my smokes.It does bother me no end when I see someone toss something entirely huge from a moving vehicle, such as a soda bottle or a used sandwich wrapper or whatever. I wouldn’t even think of doing something that thoughtless. The back seat of my car becomes filled with detritus about once a month and then I clean it out. What, these other folks don’t have a back seat?

  3. What, these other folks don’t have a back seat?I don’t have a back seat. Really.As for cigarette butts… when I still smoked I field-stripped my butts and put the filter(s) in my pocket for later disposal, assuming there was no litter barrel around. It’s an OLD habit instilled in me by the military.I yell at people I see littering in Beautiful La Hacienda Trailer Park… and that happens more often than you might think. But then again, it IS a trailer park. I HATE picking up trash on or around my lot.

  4. Apple cores… Hrm, I’m not feeling the ire there. Had it be on a bus or a train, maybe… But as long as it went somewhere that it could turn to mush without causing problems, I don’t think that really counts. Maybe it will result in a new tree? Hell, more trees = better for the environment anyway, right? I’ve also never really mined cigarette butts all that much, knowing that they turn into nothing fairly quickly. Like I say, I’m not so much worried about the whole “Mother earth” thing, as much as I don’t want to be inconvenienced by someone else’s laziness… If some guy’s half drunk coffee cup spilled on my laptop on the commuter raid, I’d have been seriously pissed… If that same cup were say, in the gutter, I’d probably roll my eyes at it, but it wouldn’t be such an inconvenience to ME. Environmental awareness is all well and good, but It’s all about ME, you see… ;D

Leave a Reply

