Conlon – A to Z Blog Challenge

Conlon is apparently a relatively common last name in Ireland, I’m told. It’s also said that there are more Irish folks in and around Boston than there are in Ireland these days.

Red Pollard was the jockey who rode the real Seabiscuit, and although he was not a Conlon, he married one, specifically my father’s aunt. I never met him, and even if I had, I’d have been to young to remember, since he died when I was two. Still though, it was fun to go see the movie with family who had known him, and could point out the inaccuracies.

As far as I know, he’s the closest thing to a famous Conlon to whom I am directly related.

Other Conlons of fame include the family… uh, Conlon… in “In the name of the Father“.

Facebook sort of opened my eyes to how many Conlons, and more specifically how many MATT Conlons there are. I belong to a Facebook group named “My Name Is Matt Conlon.” There are 28 of us. We like to joke that if we ever had a get together, we wouldn’t have to introduce ourselves to anyone, because we’d already know each other’s names.

This is our Coat of Arms. It’s got a bird of some kind, I think a stork or a pelican and it’s pecking itself in the chest and bleeding. Below is a tortoise. What the symbolism is, I have no idea, so if you do, please share!

Do you know any Conlons, real or imagined??

18 thoughts on “Conlon – A to Z Blog Challenge

  1. Nope, I know no Conlons… my maiden name is pretty common .. Cindy Lewis. There are hundreds in the US according to one of those name search websites.

  2. I’ll take a look when I have more time but, off the top of my pointy head, I would say the bird is a swan and it is building a nest – I have something bubbling in the back of my brain about a bird pulling feathers to build it’s nest mentioned in Shakespeare or other text…Man, I’ve got to clean out this brain basement, there’s a lot of stuff back here…From the quick bit I’ve googled, swans are a symbolic of the arts and the tortoise is one of strength and protection. I’ll get back to you about colour and the like but the knight’s head is the sign of a gentleman…so at least you ain’t a peasant…that’s something…Gotta goxxoomoe

  3. In other cultures a tortoise was a symbol of wisdom (it comes with age, I guess) *shrugs*Which is almost a contradiction, since the bird is pecking itself to the point of bleeding :-PMaybe it’s not pecking itself, maybe it’s tending it’s wounds.~2

  4. Just stumbled across it – not a swan, it is a pelican and there was much medieval/romance symbolism for piety, faithfulness and charity revolving around the idea of the female pelican would pierce her breast to feed her brood in times of famine…Anyway, in the case of your coat of arms it is portrayed as “vulning” which means without the brood and is a symbol of charity…Now I really gotta go…xxoomoehttp://suddenalarm.blaseckie.ca

  5. Thanks all, good info here! 🙂 Donna, I have a cousin who has done exactly that several times, and she’s stayed with extended family and such, but I have no idea where.Hope you’re enjoying Ireland! 🙂

  6. Well, I know you, but I can’t recall any others off the top of my head. Seems like there must have been one somewhere among the many teammates I’ve had playing ball, but none come to mind.

  7. You’re the only Conlon I know as well, Matt. Interesting stuff above on your family coat of arms. My family has a coat o’ legs and NONE of us knows what that means.

  8. Hey, look at the Morgans coming out to comment to the Conlon! Matt, you’re the only Conlon I know right now, but I get it about a common name. Go to any sizable city in the English-speaking world and crack open the phone directory. You can’t swing a dead cat without hitting a Morgan.

  9. Well that’s a let down. I hate when people get in the way while I’m dead-cat-swinging. ;)My third favorite Morgan (third only to the two Morgans who’ve commented of course!) is Dexter Morgan. Have you watched that show, “Dexter”?

  10. You’re the only Conlon I know, but damn I’m glad I do know you. That’s pretty cool, your Conlon Facebook group. The research into your coat-of-arms is pretty cool too. Maybe someday you’ll know all about it.

Leave a Reply

