Actually… – A to Z Blog Challenge

So, I decided that in addition to my beer blog, I’d enter THIS blog in the A to Z challenge as well… that’s right, two blogs where I’ll be blogging every day for the month of April about something from A to Z.

Actually is a word I’d sometimes like to strip from my five year old daughter’s vocabulary. My daughter is smarter than I am, you see… And she likes to remind me of it, every single time I say something.

“Pick up your toys,” I say.
“Actually,” she says matter-of-factly. “Those are not my toys, those belong to my sister.”

“Time for bed,” I say.
“Actually,” she says in a tone that says Dear father whom I love but pity for your ignorance. “I still have to brush my teeth.”

“Pick your doll up off the floor,” I say.
“Actually,” she says infuriatingly. “It’s on a paper that’s on the floor.”

I could go on all day, but this challenge is huge, and I’ll spare you the drudgery.

So yes. Actually implies that I am wrong, and my statement is not valid. It won’t be long until she really is smarter than I am, but for the time being, I’d love to delete that word from her mental dictionary!

21 thoughts on “Actually… – A to Z Blog Challenge

  1. I’m very guilty of overusing “Actually.” I know it’s annoying, but it’s a tough habit to break.And when I say it, I almost never mean that I think I’m smarter than someone…Visiting from the A to Z Challenge. Fun to meet another participant!

  2. Thanks for stopping by! I know she doesn’t realize it sounds like that, and most people don’t mean it that way, I just like to take things in the most offensive way I can think of. (Kidding). I’m enjoying the heck out of this challenge! Heading over to your place now. 🙂

  3. Actually, my daughter started that about age two (see what I did there). So sad to hear it keeps going for five year olds. The first time she said it I did a double take so fast I think I almost pulled a muscle… “Actually sweetie, it’s a … (I don’t remember now.. I was too shocked to here her parrot back to me “actually, sweetie”)CindyNesting

  4. It used to be cute. It used to make me smile… Now she’s getting to the age where I have to tell her NOT to do things to keep her from getting run over and things like that, and I need her to just do it… not tell me about how I’m wrong. Still though, I wouldn’t change a thing. 🙂

  5. Actually, I taught the word to my (also very verbal, opinionated and self-confident) daughter and she hasn’t stopped trumping me with it yet. She’s 21. Good luck. Sidebar: I always feel so WRONG when she uses it on me.

  6. Actually, I think I’m going to have a tough time with my one blog let alone you with your two. Good luck.Contrary to my usual practice of subscribing to comments, to save time during challenge I will not be doing so during April. If you want to respond to my comment , please email me directly from your email notification for the comment. Thanks.LeeTossing It OutTwitter hashtag: #atozchallenge

  7. Heh. “Out of the mouths of babes…”When my middle son was about three he still had this horrible habit of putting EVERYTHING in his mouth. I noticed him sucking on something one afternoon and I asked him “What have you got in your mouth, Sam?” “O,” he replied. “What?” sez I… “O, sez he.” “OK… spit it out… right NOW.” He did. And it WAS an “O,” one of his older brother’s plastic magnetic spelling-board pieces.It was HARD to keep from laughing.

  8. Sounds familiar, actually. At about two and a half, asked by my mom if my little girl got to lick the spoon while helping bake a cake, the little one said, “actually, it was a spatula.” It cracked us up.I’m A for Amazed that you’re doing two A to Z blogs at the same time. Good for you! Can’t wait to read some more.

  9. Awesome, Matt. But just a word of warning, if you think the repetitive word thing is annoying, just wait until she is seized by the dark side…you’ll be praying to hear a word out of her, even if it is “Actually”…Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier…xxoomoesuddenalarm.blaseckie.ca (my A-Z blog is a self-hosted wordpress.org and I can’t find a way to link it in)

Leave a Reply

