Brookline MA Can Thank Me for Cookie Dough Ice Cream

Years and years ago, growing up in Brookline MA, there was a Carvel’s ice cream on the corner of Rt. 9 and High Street. Don’t bother looking for it now, these days it’s a Dunkin Donuts, like everything else I remember being something else when I was a kid.

Around the age of 11, I used to walk down and buy a hoodwich, which if you don’t know was two chocolate chip cookies pressed together around a block of ice cream that was frozen so solid you needed a chisel to get through it.

Actually that’s not entirely true; I used to buy whole packages of 5 of those. I was a fatty.

Ice cream was always and will always be one of my favorite things to eat. One day, I was talking with a cousin of mine, and he told me about this mystical ice cream flavor that was chocolate chip cookie dough. A combination of two amazing things, I thought! The next trip to Carvel, I checked. They didn’t have it. I was crushed. I probably bought two packages of hoodwiches that day.

Incidentally, they probably weren’t called hoodwiches at Carvel since hoodwiches come from hood, and Carvel sells their own stuff… But anyway, you get the idea.

Some time later in the week, I’d come back to blow some more allowance, and I decided this day, I would sit in the dining area and eat my food there with a friend of mine. That day, I only bought one. I was poor that week.

As I sat bullshitting with this friend of mine, I noticed the manager of the establishment sitting with another fellow who was flipping through pages on a clip board. They were discussing what flavors to order in the upcoming weeks.

“Anything else you wanna try, we have some new flavors.” the clip board guy said.

“Uh, no, nothing that I can think of that we don’t already have,” said the manager.

“You should get Cookie dough” I said, butting in with my 2 cents.

“You know, I think he’s right,” said the manager.

Epic Victory for the town of Brookline! Yay for me!

Had I never inserted my opinion as a consumer, Brookline MA may never have known the wonder that is, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough ice cream.

Couple years later, Carvel shut down there, but I don’t think it had to do with me.

Were you ever responsible for contributing directly or indirectly to your own town’s obesity the way I was?!

Leave a Reply

