The Little Things

My recently renewed sense of stability seems to have brought with it my abnormal propensity for reflecting on the little things that I enjoy, and writing about said little things in a meandering big-worded style. It’s seldom I get a good post out without at least a handful of parenthesis and …s.

(I forget what the three periods are called, but I’m well aware I over use them… To understand why I like them, try to read my posts and pretend that it’s you speaking the words, turn the three periods into a short pause during which you allow your listener the chance to add a thought, which turns into a slightly awkward silence where they wait for you to get to the freaking point… Not sure why, but I like pauses like that. Gives me a moment to think, and who doesn’t like to irk their listeners a little, right? Anyway, I think I owe you a right-parenthesis… I think I’ll hold on to it for now. I’d make a terrible code monkey…

So like I was saying in the title, I’ve been thinking about some of the lesser appreciated little things that bring us some measure of pleasure, and thought I’d pay tribute. There are enough posts about children’s laughter or playful kittens. I’m not talking about finding $20 in your old jacket, or getting a free lunch when you don’t expect it… Those things are great, but really… What’s the sense in posting about something easy to enjoy like that?

No, I’m talking about the unsung heroes of our superficial pleasures.

I love potato chips, as any red-cholesterol-clotted-blooded American does, but even better than the potato chip, is a potato chip that’s folded over onto itself. There’s a certain crunch it gives as your teeth shatter through it, twice in one bit that can’t be paralleled, even by biting two chips at once.

I was once told by a brother of mine, that if you find a potato chip that’s folded over and it’s touching itself, and you can fit that entire potato chip into your mouth without breaking it, then you get to make a wish. I imagine he told me that at least twenty-five years ago, but to this day, I still do it, and I still make a wish.

It’s a well-known fact, that I am a serious ice cream addict. I have my favorites like anyone else, but I love ice cream in a bowl, and eating it with a metal spoon. I like to take that spoon after removing it from my mouth, and I lay it on the ice cream, and watch the wetness in the spoon slowly freeze when the spoon’s temperature drop. It reminds me of an old Tom and Jerry episode when they flood the kitchen, and open the freezer door, dip some wires from the fridge into the water, and the whole kitchen freezes over like a forest after a New England ice storm. The water slowly, magically freezes, the ice sweeping out across the floor… That’s how the left-behind slobber on the spoon freezes. I highly recommend trying it out. It’ll become your new bad habit.

I love crispy chicken skin. Naturally, it’s the worst part of the chicken, but a slab of seasoned, well crisped chicken skin is a close rival to possibly even bacon. I have a respect for vegetarians, but I can honestly say there’s absolutely no other food that even comes close to bacon or chicken skin. Were I to go the way of the herbivorous, there’d be no substitute for these things.

I haven’t done it in a while (read: over 20 years) but I always used to love smearing Elmer’s glue on my hand, waiting for it to dry, just to peel it off like a layer of dead skin… I know, it sounds sick, and perhaps it’s a little-boy thing, but honestly, it’s a good time. There were a bunch of us in grade school who used to do it, and we’d compete to see who could peel the biggest piece. I find myself looking back fondly on it lately, with school back in session there are tons of Elmer’s glue commercials. Don’t use rubber cement though, it doesn’t work the same, and takes longer to dry. Paste also doesn’t work the same, so don’t bother. Leave it for that weird kid who eats it.

I’m sure I’ve got a ton of these, and I’ll be sure to post them up as I think of them. What are you less obvious little things that bring you pleasure?? Try to keep it clean, this is a family show. 😉

Oh, and here… )

13 thoughts on “The Little Things

  1. You had me at…I thought I was the only one who used those three periods, and I wondered how I would explain them were anyone to ask why I use them so much. I have found a kindred spirit, and for that I am grateful!I’m going to have to think about those little things…

  2. Only … ? I use miles of them……… Okay, small things. I will give you just one but it’s a biggie. First I have to ask you a question. Do you like chocolate and do you like peanut butter??? (see you can do it with question marks too) This is from the days of raiding my moms baking cupboard. Peanut butter and chocolate chip sandwiches. You can substitute coconut and raisens (or use them all). How’s THAT for a dirty little secret?

  3. Matt, I’m beginning to think you may be responsible for founding of the EA movement. Ellipsis Anonymous…Hello – my name is Phil, and I’m an Ellipsis-holic… Doh! I’m sorry, didn’t mean to use it here. I’ve been using, er… well… actually abusing the poor punctuation mark for over twenty years now.

  4. Sombody – Pleased to meet ya! Thanks for stopping by.:) Always nice to meet a like-mind! Delores – OH man… My brother in law gave his kids peanut butter and chocolate chip sandwhiches while I was there, and the responsible adult in me went “WTF?! No!” but the overwhelming side of me (the gluttonous child) went Oh… My… Gawd. I limit myself to one every few months, cause, dayum. Anything treat involving peanut butter (cause you can never have too much peanut butter!) is peanut butter and honey sandwhiches. Highly recommended. BTW, I had to really reach to come up with non-food related things for this post! Up2DaRack – ELLIPSIS, that’s right. I almost said ellipse, but that’s a shape. I knew someone would help me out. 🙂

  5. It’s good to see your posts again… missed ya.Last night I was gonna tell you what the ellipsis is called, but I knew someone else could handle that. I’ve been know to use it on an occasion… or, more… and the dash, and the semicolon… oh, and the serial comma. When I was in H.S. I used to mix the honey into the jar of peanut butter.

  6. Ahhhh.. EA. Practice does make perfect, you have to do the same thing 700 times to get your body remembering it as a mechanism. If you do the same thing the wrong way 700 times, you’ll have to do it 2800 times to replace the mechanism. Always learn the proper technique before training.

  7. BOYCOTT AMERICAN WOMENWhy American men should boycott American womenhttp://boycottamericanwomen.blogspot.comI am an American man, and I have decided to boycott American women. In a nutshell, American women are the most likely to cheat on you, to divorce you, to get fat, to steal half of your money in the divorce courts, don’t know how to cook or clean, don’t want to have children, etc. Therefore, what intelligent man would want to get involved with American women?American women are generally immature, selfish, extremely arrogant and self-centered, mentally unstable, irresponsible, and highly unchaste. The behavior of most American women is utterly disgusting, to say the least.This blog is my attempt to explain why I feel American women are inferior to foreign women (non-American women), and why American men should boycott American women, and date/marry only foreign (non-American) women.BOYCOTT AMERICAN WOMEN!BRAND NEW: Buy the Boycott American Women book. After reading this book, I promise you that you will never even think about dating an American woman ever again, or else I will give you your money back. That’s right, if you are not convinced by my book, I will give you a full refund!Buy the Boycott American Women eBook now for just $4.99:http://www.lulu.com/product/ebook/boycott-american-women/16690691Sincerely,John Rambo

  8. Heh! I will soon, I promise! I have two posts about half done that I started already. I’ll get something out soon. 🙂 I’ve also been lax in visiting other blogs, I will definitely remedy that too.

Leave a Reply

