Super Powers

It’s been a while since my last post, there’s been some crap going on in RL that’s had me a little bit bothered, so my muse has been absent.

Anyway, I am a big fan of the comic book movies, like Batman (the first one was good, and then they were all pretty bad until Batman Begins), and X-men, and all the others in between.

As any real geek has, I have had the discussion of what super power you’d pick. Favorites are always Telekinesis, Invisibility, Flight, etc… I’ve got two possibilities, personally. I can’t decide between the two.

1) The ability to control Velocity.
One of my favorite villains is Magneto, he has the ability to control and manipulate metals. In the movies, he’s shown ripping the iron from a man’s blood. He took that iron and made little balls of metal that he propelled like bullets. How cool is that!

I got to thinking though, what power could have that control over things in addition to metals? Well, everything has a velocity, be it negative or positive or what have you… We’re all accelerating toward the center of the earth as we speak, it’s just that the earth is pushing back. That’s gravity.

So what if you could control velocity? Objects at rest could be sent flying around, objects in motion could be stopped. It could also be done on a molecular level. Everything has molecules that vibrate, what if those could be made to vibrate faster? Things would just come apart.

Anyway, that’d be my power if I chose the path of a villain.

2) Biological control
Imagine having control over bodily functions of all living things? Think about all the possible uses!

You’re at the train station, and some jackass runs by to catch a train and bumps into you. As he’s running down the platform, BAM! He experiences an earth-shaking orgasm mid stride! Now… I’m not really one for giving other guys orgasms, but picture it. You know there’s nothing else a guy can do while that’s happening… The body freezes. He’s bound to fall right off the platform.

Or when you’re in public and someone is talking ridiculously loud on their cell phones, and BAM! Suddenly they can’t stop belching into the phone.

You could also make someone belch, sneeze, cough, vomit, fart, itch, sweat, evacuate their bowls and or bladder all at the drop of a hat, and from far enough away that you get to watch, but don’t get hit by anything.

That would be a super power suitable for either hero or villain, if you ask me.

What are you top two super power picks??

5 thoughts on “Super Powers

  1. Well I feel so boring now.I would want to be able to fly (no capes please).And… I would want to the power to become invisible.I would give great meaning to the saying “I’d love to be a fly on the wall during that conversation.”And I wouldn’t have to become a fly! They’ve got nasty food taste.

  2. (1) I would want the power to make freakin’ TONS of negotiable US bank notes, in the $100.00 denomination, on demand. And a super-secret location in which to store them.(2) The power to make women shed their undergarments at my mere thought or whim. But then again, if I had (1) I wouldn’t really need (2).Modest aspirations, no?

  3. I think I’ve gone about as far as most of us have with the simple basics of flying, becoming invisible, telekinesis, be able to levitate… the basics.But I think if I had to choose, I would have to choose:a. Be like Magneto and have the ability to control/manipulate metals. But you’ve definitely put an interesting twist on it I must say. (oh the possibilities of being able to do stuff!)b. Now this one would be a tie between telekinesis and teleporting. Both are just so intriguing! On one hand you’re able to go anywhere you want basically. (stupid comparison … but like the dude from the movie Jumper). And then on the other hand you’re able to read people’s minds and speak to them with yours! So cool!P.s. I will say that your second choice of power is pretty cool sounding. Again, all the possibilities that you have with that one. Mad props for coming up with that one!

  4. I think I would go with invisibility but not just invisible. You wouldn’t feel me either. Way easier for robbing banks or pick pocketing. Or switching people’s clothing while they sleep. lol. Damn that sounds evil hunh?

Leave a Reply

