Humorous Blogger Award

 

So it would appear that I’ve been given The Humorous Blogger Award.

The requirements are that I tell what impact humor has had on my life, and I must award the Cat’s Ass to another such blogger whom I feel deserves it. This is a teriffic question.

Humor is a very important part of my my life and who I am. I love to laugh, and I love to have others join me in it, even if it’s at my own expense. If you can’t laugh at yourself, you’ve no right to laugh at anyone else.

Humor has gotten me through some pretty tough times. My father’s last statement to me on his death bed was “I hear they were considering making a stamp commemorating lawyers, but no one could figure out what side to spit on.” Just last month, I was told that one of the last things he told my brother, who was just starting his family was “Be good to your kids. One of them might be me.”

I’ve always gravitated toward that one person in every group who is always cracking jokes, and always getting people to laugh. I’ve always felt like if I could get that person to laugh at one of my jokes, the day was a success. 

I think it’s important to find the humor in a bad situation. I had a friend who lost his father during the month of March. On father’s day his Facebook status was “Guess who got to save money by not having to buy a father’s day gift? …too soon?” and I thought “good for him.” While there may have been some who found it in bad taste, it was just how he dealt.

I’d like to give this award over to Wendy – Keeping Up With The Pickles

7 thoughts on “Humorous Blogger Award

  1. Humor is the thing that makes most days worth living. And if you can’t laugh at your misfortunes (including family deaths) then you may as well not even bother sticking around because you’ll certainly have enough of that stuff in your lifetime.

  2. Belle – I find myself extremely uncomfortable around folks who have no sense of humor… I never know what to say! Thanks GLC! Suldog, I couldn’t agree more. Just so you know, you nearly got that award, but I’ve given you awards before, and I saw that you just gone one recently, thought I’d give you the day off on this one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

