Exhaustion and the Mind

Thinking is one of my favorite pass times. I like to consider, and analyze, and ponder. I have a hard time stopping my mind from doing these things. It’s feelers reach out from the center of my mind and poke and tickle at subjects like they’re rubix cubes to be solved. Sometimes I can do just that.

I worked last night, late into the wee hours. Today was a flurry of fires for me to put out. By the end of the day, my mind was racing, and in fact still is, but I can’t seem to do anything productive. It’s like my engine is revving, but the clutch (or transmission if you rather) wont engage.

Or perhaps more accurately, the feelers are working at the rubix cubes, but they’re not turning, or the feelers are working against each other.

It’s times like this when I look forward to retiring in thirty-some odd years, and the only problems I have to consider are my own.

What do you do to calm your mind’s feelers when they fumble over one another?

7 thoughts on “Exhaustion and the Mind

  1. Worry – reason #3 why I drink :)But ahem, seriously I try to convince myself that worrying won’t make things change and only action will. I also sometimes ask myself if what I’m so worried about will even matter in a year, or five. I’m a cancer survivor, so that helps put things into perspective for me. But I don’t recommend that route LOL 🙂

  2. Music! At least for me, music is my elixir. It grabs hold of those feelers and it strokes them gently, relaxing them into a nice trance-like state. Whenever I work into the wee hours of the morning and I’m wrapping up to get to bed, I first pop on the headphones and listen to something soothing. It helps the brain unwind quite nicely. Of course you do need to find appropriate music…

  3. Beer and cigars work for me. Now. But the ex-wife used to know EXACTLY what I needed to unwind, back in the day. One of her better points…

  4. Exercise, preferably something that works your legs, like stair climbing. In traditional Chinese medicine terms, that mind racing thing happens when you draw too much liver fire up into your head. You need to get it to move back down again. (When I’m not writing, I teach tai chi…the theory behind it sounds wonk, but it works amazingly well.)

Leave a Reply

