A to Z Challenge 2012 – Flying Fickle Finger of Fate

By the time my folks got around to having me, they’d already had three other kids, who were 13, 14 and 15 in 1979 when I made my debut. All my life, I’ve been surrounded by folks who are ALMOST too old to be considered the same generation as me. The music I listen to is about 20 years before my time. I’ve often looked around at people who are actually my own age, and wondered what the F they were thinking.

Television is also a forum in which I found this particular quirk. I watched some unusual television for a kid, including Nick at Night when it first came out.

The shows in that lineup were old even when my brothers were kids. If I recall correctly, the original line up went something like Mr. Ed, Bewhitched, Donna Reed Show, Patty Duke, Green Acres, My Three Sons, and a few other things over the years like I Love Lucy and Make Room for Daddy… Anyway, at some point over the years, I watched a good deal of Rowan and Martin’s Laugh-In.

One of the skits they had on there was an award that they gave for the dumbest news of the week. I don’t remember ANY of the recipients, but I always remembered the award. I also always hated the fact that when I mentioned it, nobody knew what the hell I was talking about, except for my father.

Thus, I kinda just stopped talking about it, cause it was pointless, and also kinda cumbersome to say, so why bother.

If you remember this award, or anyone it was given to, please let me know!

14 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge 2012 – Flying Fickle Finger of Fate

  1. I do remember the award but not who it was given too. I guess I was in somewhat the same situation as yourself….I was eleven, almost twelve, before any other kid came along in the family so grownups were my constant company.

  2. I’m seeing the Flying Fickle Finger quite a bit today. Laugh in was classic. I was just a young lad but remember it well. Nick at Nite was great in bringing back a time gone by for a new generation.

  3. Nope, never heard of it, sorry (I’m not really laughing..). My baby sis’ and you should form a support group, my bruv’ was 17 when she was born, my other sis’ 15, and I was 10 – poor kid never stood a chance!

  4. My hubby’s younger brother is 10 years younger and his younger sister, get ready for this, 27 years younger. No, not the same mom. So, I sort of understand where you’re coming from. Totally different generations.

    • Hi Marta, Yikes! I have a friend who had been an only child all his life, but then his folks got divorced, and his father had another kid with a new wife. Said friend was around 23 at the time I think… Talk about a shocker. From only child, to adult, to big brother.

  5. Well I am old as dirt and I do remember the award..but because I am old..I will have to google the awardees!!! I laughed at the tv line up..I remember all of those shows fondly. Of course I remember having a black and white tv, a party line on the phone and a a slide ruler instead of a calculator….I also had to wear white gloves to church and little flowered hats on Easter…This year I spend Easter at my studio covered in paint..much better.

Leave a Reply

