Glass – A to Z Blog Challenge

I find glass to be a pretty interesting substance. If you look around you, I’m sure there’s tons of it around you, and it’s made of one of the most plentiful things on earth. I drink from glasses. I wear (eye) glasses. I used to use it to light small fires in my back yard as a kid.

Although it wasn’t glass, I made Stained-Glass cookies in the third grade. I don’t have any pictures or anything, so here’s a link to a Google search page, so you don’t have to search for them yourself.

It may feel like a subject change, but bear with me… I love music in many forms, but sometimes even more impressive than the music itself is the level of talent and skill required to play said music.

I dabbled in the guitar, and I can hunt-n-peck out a tune or two on the piano. I have talent, but never really developed any skill. One day, I may. When I’m rich and famous I’ll be able to afford lessons, you know.

When I was a kid, I watched Mr. Wizard with my father on a regular basis, and he (Mr. Wizard, not my father) was teaching someone that if they wet their finger, they could rub it along the rim of a wine glass, and make it vibrate and make a noise. I didn’t get to try it right then, we didn’t have wine glasses. We couldn’t have nice things, we had me.

So I took this knowledge and stored it away as just another quirky annoying thing I knew how to do, and I’d pull it out of my bag of tricks when we were out to dinner or something and there was such a glass available. I was shocked to find out that there were people who did this for a living!

These days, I find the sound of a Glass Harp unique. I like it very much. It’s gotta be such a pain in the arse in a few ways. Like I said before, I play the guitar, and I’ve dropped my guitar a few times. It still plays! It’s probably a lot lighter than hauling around all these glasses and water, or whatever he’s got in there.

This guy is pretty incredible with his Glass Harp. I don’t do anything that impressively. To get this good, he must have had to practice all the freakin time. At parties he’s gotta be one of the most boring guys. You never know what to get him for his birthday, cause he doesn’t know how to do anything else, he’s used up too much of his brain learning how to play the Glass Harp.

I’m feeling loquacious tonight, so I think I’ll continue. (Sorry.)
I remember when my father told me that glass was melted sand, and I thought he was pulling my leg. I then saw it once on some show, but… then never again! Once again, I turned to youtube, but even the videos on there seem less impressive than I had hoped. 
Here’s one that’s impressive, but no narrative. 

Have you ever blown glass or know anyone who has? Got any better videos than this? Ever had stained glass cookies? 
19 thoughts on “Glass – A to Z Blog Challenge

  1. The glass harp dude is pretty amazing. I love to watch glass blowers…I have seen them many times at different places. I always thought that would be a great way to use the artistic talent that is supposed to be in all of us. Myself though – I seem to have missed that boat. 🙂

  2. A few years ago we went to Venice and visited the Island of Murano. We were treated to a display of glass blowing that ended with a glass explosion (all intended and done for effect). We came away with a small magnifying glass with a beautifully decorated Morano glass handle. I thought I’d wasted my money but I love it. The glass is so tactile.I love the way your family couldn’t have wine glasses cause they’d got you!http://rosalindadam.blogspot.com/

  3. Very nice essay, Matt ~ you’re doing a marvelous job of the 30-day task you’ve taken on. I love glass in every form, from crappy old heavy drinking tumblers to the finest crystal, colored or clear, broken shards or fully formed. I love how glass appears shimmering icy even when it is too hot to touch.

  4. Thanks all! That Glass harmonica is pretty sweet! You’re right Leslie, I think that’s my favorite thing about Glass is that it can be so pristine even in it’s simplest designs!

  5. I always thought blowing glass would be cool. My college chemistry department had a class in it — they used it to teach people how to make their own retorts and such — but they cancelled it the one year it would have fit into my schedule. I did learn how to pull pipettes and the like in my lab courses, though, and how to soften a test tube and then blow into it to make the end expand into a ball. Fun times!Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂Erin’s blog

  6. My favorite glass is beach glass…though that glass harp is pretty neat too.Your glasses are probably made out of a high density acrylic or something of the sort though unless you specifically asked for actual glass. 🙂

  7. I’ve seen glass blowing demonstrations a few times–it’s so cool to watch the glass just expand and somehow turn into a practical object, or a work of art.Thank you for the videos! (Canon in D is one of my favorite pieces of music.)

  8. Glass harp? Aiiieee. I got 38 seconds into the vid and HAD to stop; the Canon in D is a fave and I couldn’t bear to hear it desecrated like that.Nice post otherwise, Matt. I’m a glass-fan, too!

  9. You know Buck, I have to apologize. It’s one of my favorites too, but that video just seems a little over the top for it… I was hoping it was just me. Thanks for the nice words. 😀

  10. I feel stupid I never checked out your other blogs until now. I blame the beer.”I made Stained-Glass cookies in the third grade. I don’t have any pictures or anything, so here’s a link to a Google search page, so you don’t have to search for them yourself.”Cracked me up.- allison writes

  11. Dude, this is an awesome G entry. Makes mine look pitiful by comparison LOL. And thanks for sharing the videos. That is really cool stuff.

  12. Yeah, it’s me…~!! I know, I know, I have been absent and now so tardy!! But, am tryin’ to catch up…Glass~!! Love the Glass Harp, cool~!! And, the strength and patience to do blown glass is awesome…I have seen many glass blowing exhibits, love them…Haven’t made a cookie , though..darn~!! Love your blog, and have missed comin’ over..See you at the next letter~!http://timeforabucketlist.blogspot.com/http://imagesinthought.blogspot.com/http://the-old-story-tree.blogspot.com/http://bagladythoughts.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

