Butter Scraped Over Too Much Bread

A couple weeks ago, I decided I had enough blogs to make a schedule for them, to see if it kept me motivated to blog on them, so that they wouldn’t go stale. I think we all know how that turned out, since I’m kinda scraping the mold off of this proverbial piece of bread right now. But I do have a good excuse! (don’t I always?)

I’m just plain tired lately. In the words of Bilbo Baggins, I feel thin… Sort of stretched, like… bitter scraped over too much bread.

Our first car was a brand new Hyundai Accent. Tiny little thing. We drove it around for a year and traded it back in for an Elantra, flipping the loan. Then a year and a half later, we traded that in for the car we have now, a 2007 Chevy Uplander which my daughter named “Sheila” years ago. We needed something bigger to fit the whole family. We flipped the loan again, into this used car, which isn’t a terrible machine. I have never really loved it, to be honest. My wife once liked it, but now hates it. It was a necessary thing when we got it.

However, it’s having problems lately.

It decided to stop working some weeks back, completely. Brought it to the shop, they did a tune up, injector cleaning, flushed the coolant, and replaced the ignition switch. Only to find that they put in a bad ignition switch, so they had to get a new one. I’ll spare you the details of us being dropped off there expecting to drive away in the car, only to have to call our ride again, and walk to meet her along a major highway, my wife walking with the 7-year-old, me carrying the 2-year-old AND her car seat. Ok, maybe I won’t spare you the details. Sorry. Anyway, cost about $800.

So anyway, we got the car back, and it worked for two days. Sent it back, they fixed it for free claiming “it was a wire we missed.” Nice that it was free, but it took another five days.

Then, six days before the sticker expired, the engine light came on. Took it back to PepBoys, and the guy (with whom I’m very familiar, at this point) checked the code. It said “Emission system”. He explained that it could be anything, even something as simple as the gas cap not being tight. He deleted the message, told me to drive around for about 60 miles, and go get my sticker… We went over the 60 miles, and at around 74, the damned light came back on. Needless to say, I have a big orange 7 on my windshield. Need to go back and have him do it again. Just haven’t had the time.

The transmission is also slipping a bit… not always engaging when it needs to, so when you pull out onto the road, sometimes the engine revs up, but you don’t go anywhere. If you stay on the gas, it will engage, and snap your neck, and screech the tires. If you let up on the gas, let the engine relax and try again, it typically works out right, however, you run the risk of being rear-ended.

My wife has been talking about getting rid of Sheila for a while, but we still owe two years on it, (which is something like $11k) and nobody will flip that loan for us… Two years isn’t so bad to struggle through either, in my opinion. Well, the wife almost got rear ended while the transmission was doing it’s stupidity, and swore she’d never drive it again. “Guess it’s time for another car”, I said.

But not a new car, and we won’t be trading in Sheila, cause nobody would want it for what we owe. Instead, we’ll be doubling our outgoing car payments… We pick up the new car (a ’05 Buick Rendezvous) on Friday. My wife loves it. I don’t particularly like it much, I think it looks like a sneaker. It’s got a few more miles than I’d like it to, but not terrible.

My credit sucks so we’ll be paying for it weekly. Comes with a 2 year warranty on everything but tires, wipers, and brake pads… Two years of worry free car maintenance… At the end of which Sheila will also be paid off, and I’ll only have one more year of payments on the Buick. There’s a light at the end of this tunnel, though it’s REALLY dark where I’m standing right now. At least the family will be safe. I’ll continue to drive Sheila, but at least fixing it isn’t as hot a topic right now.

I’ll be looking for a second job, methinks.

I also have a cold, which makes anything but sniffing, snorting, and snuffling difficult. Mental function is reduced. My head feels packed with wool. Sleeping is very difficult, made worse by the fact that I have a Bi-Pap machine, due to sleep apnea. So as I try to sleep, when my nose runs, I have to take off the mask to blow it, which is difficult, cause I just shave my head (my summer style) and the damned strap that keeps the mask on my head drags across my head stubble and gets stuck.

So my blogging motivation hasn’t been very high. I am still reading your blogs and commenting where I can though. Stick around, I’ll be back and more cheerful in the near future!

Enhanced by Zemanta
12 thoughts on “Butter Scraped Over Too Much Bread

  1. I found you! It’s been a bit since I made the blog rounds, and I planned to do a post about a comment you left on my blog.

    Sorry to hear you have a cold, so get better soon. I’ve never owned a car, so I don’t have much experience when it comes to buying/maintenance/loans. But two years do usually fly quickly so long as you don’t count the minutes of every day.

    • Hey, Michelle! I’ve been keeping up with your facebook updates, Jac is adorable! Glad you came out to the Blogosphere!

      I’ll get better. I’m actually feeling rather better today than I had been. Colds only last a few days for me on average.

      Time definitely does fly. Two years ago really wasn’t that far away.

  2. I just went through the rigmarole of buying a car. It’s one thing I HATE doing – I LITERALLY would rather go through getting my wisdom teeth extracted again than deal with buying a car.

    But I digress. I hope you get well soon, Matt, and that Sheila holds out for two more years for you.

    • Heya Beefy! I’m with you there. Car purchases are some of the most expensive transaction an average person will make. I don’t agree to do things for years on end, lightly…

    • It was tough. Basically the dealer said that no dealer would flip that loan for us, and we’d never end up selling ti for what we owe… He said we could just call the bank, tell them to come get it, and call it a day, though they’d still want their money… So, it didn’t make sense to do that.

      By the way, do you have a blog? I’ve tried to check the gravatar profile, but I didn’t see a link?

  3. Sheila sounds dangerous. If the tranny (Sheila, tranny, there’s definitely a joke in there somewhere) malfunctions one way, I’d be afraid of it malfunctioning in the opposite – keeps going when you want to stop! Of course, I know zilch about cars, so my opinion is worth what you paid for it.

    • Haha, Shiela has a “tranny” problem… hehe

      Yeah, I hear ya on that… I don’t like the idea of it seizing up or something like that… Gives me chills to think about it.

      We’ll likely let her sit while we keep shoveling money into the system… Depending on how things go, I will likely try to get her fixed. Or at least looked at.

      Now we just need to come up with a name for the new one. It’s a Rendezvous, so I suggested “Randy”. The wife said no… She doesn’t see the need to name it.

Leave a Reply

