Migraine season

As if I spoke too loudly commenting over at Buck’s place last week, I had the first migraine of the season last night.

It was hot, around 80°F, and the barometric pressure was around 29.8, which is prime migraine pressure for me. A perfect storm. As irony would have it, I had only a half a cup of coffee that morning.

I sat in my office goofing around with the family’s laptop, removing Vista and putting the good ‘ol Windows XP pro on there, and I’d just cracked my third Guinness of the evening, when I realized I couldn’t see the second half of the word I happened to be reading, always the telltale sign of the throbbing to come.

I quickly consumed my Rx meds, as well as a few other things, as directed of course, washed it down with about a liter of coffee. Well, the meds and caffeine did their job, and I made it through relatively painlessly, actually, although I did get the usually numbness in the right arm, and lips and tongue. If course, that much caffeine meant I wasn’t going to fall asleep either. I stared at the insides of my eyelids until shortly after 4:30am this morning. I woke with less signs of a migraine than I usually have the day after, but I’ve been rather surly all day.

Got up, drove the trash down to the end of the road for pick up, ran through the shower and got to work. Moments later, my wife ambled into my office looking for meds. She too came down with a migraine! 

4 thoughts on “Migraine season

  1. Ooh. You both get them? Bummer. MY WIFE gets them, but I am blissfully non-migrainic.(New word! Yay!)Actually, she has been having a bout just now, too. Never considered that barometric pressure could be a cause. I’ll have to mention that to her and see what she thinks.

  2. It’s a difficult thing, Migraines… They are so different in so many people. My brother gets them, and caffeine makes his worse. I’ve gone through many different meds, some of them also made things worse, and unfortunately it’s a trial and error thing. Best thing I did was go to the ER, and there was a doctor there who said, “we are going to try a few things… If one doesn’t help, we’ll move on to something else.”It was a long, long night, but in the end, we did find one. They’re making big changes every day, so if she’s been to the doctor before, but left unsatisfied, it’s well worth another visit. The best stuff I’ve had was a free sample from my neurologist about a year ago, called treximet… Of course, my insurance company would’t cover it, so when it came time for me to get some, it would have been $130 for 6 pills or something. Might be different now. Right now, I use Fioricet, which works pretty well, when mixed with ibuprofen. Aspirin is said to help, thinning the blood to get it through constricted passages.

  3. always the telltale sign of the throbbing to come.The infamous and dreaded aura. Mine comes complete with its very own light show which, in the worst case, makes vision impossible for all intents and purposes.I’ll take a page out of your book and NOT state just how long it’s been since my last occurrence. This is the sorta grief I don’t want or need.

  4. Yeah, the aura… It’s a very difficult thing to describe for people who have never had one. Closest I can come is this:First, it’s very similar to when you close your eyes and push on your eyeballs… The light show that goes on there, is similar, but… Mine starts, not exactly with the aura, but with bits of my vision just missing… I can look at one end of the dog, and the other end is gone. It’s not that I can see what is behind that end, my brain just doesn’t register any matter there at all… Then those voids are filled with flickering, much like rain on a pond, or when you turn on the shower, and there’s a quarter inch of water in the tub… if you look at the drain, but pay attention to the pattern the falling water makes around the periphery… THAT is what the aura looks like.

Leave a Reply

