Dog Days of Summer Blog Fest!

I have joined the Dog Days of Summer Blog Fest this year. I urge you to click that pic and join too, it’s not too late!

I’m a little unclear if I have to post on the 10th, the 11th, and the 12th, or just at some point in those days… So I’m going to go for the latter, and make sure to spend enough time on the other days going to the blogs of the other participants.

1) Describe your favorite summer activity thus far.
Well, to be honest, I hate the summer… I really hate the heat, I hate humidity, etc. I like Air Conditioning, of course, but I hate paying for it.

When I was a kid, of course, summer was great because I had no responsibilities, I had no bills, and I got to reap the benefits of not being in school. These days, I have to pay for things myself, and MY kid isn’t in school, so I have to keep her entertained. As I work from home, this is tough sometimes, although my wife does a great job of doing it, as she’s home too. She works 11 to 7 though, so some days she just needs to sleep.

I suppose if I HAD to pick something for an activity, it would be blogging? Or playing video games, or reading. I know that’s not much of a “summer activity” but it’s the stuff I enjoy most, be it summer or otherwise.

2) What activities do you plan before summer is over?
I plan on reading, blogging, etc… I guess I should add mowing the lawn? I do that a few times a month. I’m hoping to get some more games that my family and I can enjoy together… Video-type games… Games that don’t involve being outside.

3) If you could have the ultimate vacation ever, where and what would it be?
That’s a tough one… Something that involves liesure. No rock climbing or walking around. I’d think a cruise of some sort would be up my alley. Something in a relatively non-humid area of the world. Like the arctic.

8 thoughts on “Dog Days of Summer Blog Fest!

  1. I think reading is a great summer activity. It’s when I’m able to read the most (despite having to entertain my boys–I can so relate to that in your post).
    No rock climbing??? You should give it a try 🙂

  2. I *love* cruises, even though I’ve only been on three in my life. For a summer cruise, I want to go on an Alaskan cruise – you get to tour glaciers and other subarctic locations. My only obstacle is my wife – she *hates* cold and snow. Still, summer in Alaska isn’t cold, just cooler than the continental US.

    • I’ve always wanted to go on a cruise. I’ve heard people who love em, and those who don’t. The folks who don’t always say they feel trapped on the boat… Sounds fine to me!

    • I HATE when I take a vacation from work and end up spending the whole thing working in the yard or on the house or something like that… I always get back to work feeling like I’d never left.

  3. Indoor family! There was a great video game I used to play with some of my students. It could be played with 2-4 players. It was something like monkey challenge. Damn, I wish I could remember it because it was a lot of fun. It pitted each money against the other in various challenges and skills, like timing, reflexes, etc.

    Thanks for participating!

Leave a Reply

