The Olympic Games: I Don’t Care

BEIJING, CHINA - APRIL 17:  Two Chinese women ...

BEIJING, CHINA – APRIL 17: Two Chinese women play near the Olympic rings sculpture and the torch of Beijing Olympic Games before the rehearsal of ceremony to mark 100-day countdown to London 2012 Olympic Games at the Olympic Park on April 17, 2012 in Beijing, China. The 100-day countdown to London 2012 Olympic Games falls on April 18, 2012. (Image credit: Getty Images via @daylife)

I’m probably one of the only bloggers on Earth right now who hasn’t blogged about the Olympics. Guess I’m going to fix that right now though. Sorry if I sound crabby, it’s summer and I hate this weather…

I’m afraid that when it comes to the Olympic games, I just don’t get it. I am so disinterested by the Olympics, that it’s actually sort of annoying. It’s everywhere, and what’s more, the people who do like them, LOVE them. I’m all for people liking what they like, but jeez.

Some of the things I just don’t care about. So you can spin yourself around a horizontal bar a hundred times a minute. So you can run 100 meters faster than anyone else on Earth. Awesome. What does that mean to me? I’m not trying to catch you, and if I were, I’d be in my car. You lose anyway.

Michael Phelps is the fastest (human) swimmer in the world. Well… cool? I mean, I know he’s worked super hard to get there, but… so? That means…? He can swim faster than everyone else. Why does this make people want to eat at Subway?

I’m not saying it’s all meaningless, I get it, I really do… And honest, I think there are far worse role models than Michael Phelps. High school kids who look up to him are probably better off than if they looked up to rock stars or hit men or what have you…

I’m more than happy to let people enjoy themselves especially given the history of the Olympic games, and where it’s come from and what not… I definitely give it respect as being one of the longest running, not to mention one of the only existing global traditions… But when someone finds out you don’t care about it, it’s like they’re insulted!

I just don’t care that someone can swim / skate / tumble / throw something / shoot / ride etc better / faster / more accurately / stronger than me. There’s always going to be someone out there who is better than you at something.

Think about this… EVERYONE on earth, no matter how stupid, knows something you don’t. You also know something that NOBODY else does. There IS something you do better than everyone else on earth, even if it’s just understanding yourself. Mike just happens to swim better…

Now, to lighten the mood…

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “The Olympic Games: I Don’t Care

    • Hey man. 🙂

      Yeah, gotta love legos… I think I could enjoy most stories if it were redone as legos… even chick flicks like dirty dancing might be interesting if… Nah, nevermind.

  1. Eh. Most things don’t make a difference when you get down to it. I like the Olympics, and truly enjoy the two weeks or so, but I think fast-pitch softball is somehow important in my life, too, so I’m unbalanced 🙂

    • That’s true, when you get right down to it, I suppose… My friend the sarcastictestguy.blogspot.com posted something similar, perhaps better illustrating my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

