Dogfish Head 120 Minute IPA

Brew Style: American Double / Imperial IPA
Brewer: Dogfish Head Craft Brewery
ABV: 18%
BrewNewb Opinion: Interesting. Not bad, but…

I know, it’s been a while since my last post. I’ve been broke. So…

Anyway, I was at my beer club meeting a little early the other day, and saw that they had this on tap! So I figured I’d get one or two. How little did I know. I got one. I got a 10 ounce one, because they’re not allowed to serve 12 ounces of it at a time…

It came in a brandy glass. It stunk like alcohol. There were hints of hops and malts, but by and large it smelled like a barleywine. It was orange and hazy with a thick frothy head.

The taste was syrupy, thick and almost oily… Not terrible, but the finish was like nailpolish…

As I continued to sip, and my pallet got used to it, it wasn’t bad.

As it turns out, I paid $10 for that glass. Yes, it’s 18%, but a dollar an ounce is a little steep for me.

I could have had 3 beers for 2 dollars more, each around 8% for a total of more booze than one glass of 120.

I think it’s more of a novlty than a beer you drink because it’s good. If you need something that strong, you might as well go with a bourbon or scotch.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Related External Links

Leave a Reply

