I Remember…

I remember being sent to the store by my folks. I would walk in, buy a Boston Herald and a Boston Globe, two packs of cigarettes (for my folks, of course) and a scratch ticket. I was so young, I struggled to get those heavy newspapers home. At the time, we lived perhaps 200 yards from the store.

Now, I shudder at the thought of my kid being on a different floor of the house than I am.

I remember leaving my bike unattended and unlocked for days on end in my back yard, and never having to worry about whether or not it would still be there when I returned for it.

Now, I worry about people digging through my garbage and stealing my very identity!

I remember when there were public service commercials

Now, if there’s no money to be generated, there’ll be no commercials.

I remember when fast food was a bargain. Now it’s just as expensive as going to a restaurant.

I remember when people would welcome new families to the neighborhood. Now, they just want to be left alone.

I remember when you could surf the net and enjoy it. Now if you’re not careful, you can lose data or worse.

It’s true that not all changes are for the worst, but these are the things I happened to be thinking of right now.

What do you remember?

4 thoughts on “I Remember…

  1. Very nice, Matt! It’s a good thing I’m very straight about my age. Otherwise this comment would give me up.The summer I was 8, I was often sent off on foot in the morning to a small area that contained a market, a dry cleaner, a pharmacy, etc. I’d drop my Dad’s white shirts off at the dry cleaner and step into the market. I’d have been sent with a half dollar – a large silver coin that featured Ben Franklin, not JFK. With that coin I’d buy milk, bread, maybe some 4-cent postage stamps, whatever else my mother needed AND have the leftover nickel to buy the Sugar Daddy that lasted me the rest of the day. They didn’t have to worry about me being snatched from the streets. I was not fearful to make such trips on my own. My daughter was never sent off on foot with money to do anything out of our sight.

  2. The price of things never ceases to amaze me either. I tend to focus on how I feel like things were safer back then, but the things I could do back then with just the money I have now in my car’s unused ashtray! Sheesh!!

  3. Ok…the neighbors thing. Very very very true! We had one neighbor be nice and come over. Our entire neighborhood is new but they could careless about making friends. Well they cared less until their trampoline was blowing like a tumbleweed and then we were best friends. I say poo on them. Meanies.

    For me… My mom used to let me ride my bike about a mile to the library. No cell, no pager, just trust. I would do what I had to and then come home. Then…Megan Kanka was abducted down the way from my father’s house I went to on weekends and then her body was found within a mile of my house. No more bike rides. It’s just too scary now.

Leave a Reply

