Nothing in particular – A to Z Blog Challge

When I was a kid I used to watch the show Nature on PBS, and I always thought it was funny at the end when they’d tell you “Nature has been made possible by – insert sponsor name – .” Well that was nice of them, to make nature possible. How omnipotent.

Nails on a chalk board never bothered me as a kid, and I always boggled about the fact that it could bring some folks to their knees the way it does. I am no longer unbothered by it. I don’t know when it happened, but somewhere between fourth grade and now, I’ve grown to hate the sound.

Whenever we get food somewhere that you can help yourself to the utensils and condiments, I always forget to grab napkins, and I always end up needing them. It’s even worse now that I have kids, but still, I always forget.

I have given NASCAR a fair shot several times over the course of my life, and I just can’t get into. “Here they come! They’re turning left! There they go! They’re turning left! Here they come! They’re turning left! There they go! They’re turning left!” Sometimes there’s a crash, and that can be interesting, but sometimes people get injuries or serious bodily death, and that’s no fun.

Nolnoc is Conlon backwards.

Nine multiplied by any single digit number other than 0 or 1  will give you a two digit number, and the two digits of that number, when added together will give you 9.

Nine of out ten experts agree, the tenth guy’s an idiot.

Neckties have got to be the most pointless part of a man’s (or a womans) wardrobe. Don’t get me wrong, I LIKE them, and I USED to wear them all the time. I have tons of them, but my boss at my current job told me not to wear them, cause if I wore them, then he’d have to wear them. Or fire me. But seriously, it’s just a piece of cloth hanging from your neck. It serves no purpose whatsoever. It’s not functional, it’s not comfortable… It just hangs there…

Navy blue doesn’t make sense to me, they don’t wear blue. And Naval operations have nothing to do with belly-button surgeries.

Have you ever had a nose whistle that just wont go away? I think I must have oddly shaped nostrils, cause practically every day, I will go through a short period of time where every time I breath out through my nose, it goes “TWEEEEeeeeeeee!” Believe me when I say, no nose knows nose notes like mine.

“Nature’s Blood” is what I like to call water.

Nonsense can sometimes explain a lot, ironically.

Nothing else comes to mind, so here’s a bunch of N tongue twisters I just stole off of the internet. Try saying them quickly a few times.

  • Nick knits Nixon’s knickers.
  • Nine nice night nymphs.
  • Nine nimble noblemen nibbled nuts
  • Norse myths.
  • A noisy noise annoys an oyster.
  • Nat the bat swat at Matt the gnat.
  • National Sheepshire Sheep Association
  • Near an ear, a nearer ear, a nearly eerie ear.
  • Never trouble about trouble until trouble troubles you!
  • Nine nice night nurses nursing nicely.
  • No need to light a night light on a light night like tonight.
  • Nothing is worth thousands of deaths.
18 thoughts on “Nothing in particular – A to Z Blog Challge

  1. Best. Sign. Ever. :)You misspelled colon LOL Loved your post. You typed out just how I think sometimes, where a bunch of seemingly unrelated items seem to come to mind in rapid succession. Well done 😀

  2. OK, I’m older than you are. My tastes are different. “The Civil War was made possible by the National Endowment for the Arts, etc.” Really? That’s terrible!And don’t you love the fans who consider NASCAR a sport? What? driving a car fast around a track?Grand post, Matt!

  3. @Dy – Ack! Actually, I misspelled Nolnoc… 🙂 Thanks! @Leslie – I’ve seen people get very angry about being told it’s not a sport… I’ve heard them argue that it’s very difficult to keep your head up at those speeds. I sorta thing that racing anything mechanical or not powered by you is really a non-sport…

  4. I’m from the south and I really don’t like NASCAR. It’s boring. A dirt track race is a little more entertaining….Nails on a chalkboard-no problem. Chalk in my hand-ohmyGOSH!!!! I shiver and shake and shudder. Ick!And I don’t like nose whistles, either, LOL!!!Great, great post!

  5. I love the nine times table thing. That’s how I learned them in school, but my parents had never heard of it. Also, the first number of the product is one less than the number multiplied by nine. 9 x 3 = 27. 9 x 4 = 36.I forget the exact wording of the NASCAR joke, but it’s something like “What do you do if you insult a NASCAR fan and he starts chasing you?” Turn right.Allison backwards is Nosilla. – allison writes

  6. Allison, that reminds me, I learned my 9 times table that way too…I learned that if you spread out both your hands, you could count on them… So like, 9×4, you count from left to right, and you put down your 4th finger… To the left of that finger, there are 3 fingers standing, and to the right are 6… 36.

  7. Who knoew you could do so much with N? (=Nature films on PBS and National Geo– reminds me of my childhood. My dad was a biology teacher at one time and he used to bring home nature film strips to watch at home. And I liked it! (=

  8. it’s just a piece of cloth hanging from your neck. It serves no purpose whatsoever. It’s not functional, it’s not comfortable… It just hangs there…Bzzt. Wrong! Best gravy catcher, evah. I dunno just HOW many shirts were saved by my tie over the course of a career, but it was a LOT.

  9. Haha – I’m not sure tennis is so much better than NASCAR in that respect, though. Look left. Look right. Look left. Look right. And now you made me wonder if UK NASCARS (if they had them – one of the A’s stand for something America, right?) would only turn right. They would, wouldn’t they? o_0And also – I always bring extra napkins. And never use more than one, except when I sit with friends that (like you) forget to bring any…

Leave a Reply

