#atozchallenge – Larrys

So I’ve been drinking today, and realized about 1/3 into the bottle of whiskey that I had no “l” post lined up, so here I am, so as not to disappoint.

However. Typing is like, really hard right now.

So I thought about L words, and I bet a BAJILLION and SIX people are going to do Love. Like too, and how it pertains to Facebook and social media. Loser will pop up a few times, and maybe even lice.

Larry has been a name that I always kinda liked, in that “I like these strange names” sort of context. I have a cat named Larry, one of the “barn” cats who lives outside and eats moles and squirrels because I thought it was such an unusual name for a cat. There’s also a “Mark” out there too. Perhaps I’ll talk about him tomorrow.

Anyway, this post isn’t about cats. It’s about some famous Larrys.  

I’ve often wondered… Was “Larry” from the 3 Stooges ever anyone’s favorite stooge? I mean, Moe was in charge, I’m sure there were fans of Moe, and Curley… Well, who doesn’t like Curley? Shemp… eh… different story, and I’m not even county Curley Joe. But Larry… I don’t remember any great skits of just Larry. I remember Curley getting squirted in the eye by a clam in his chowder, and pulling wires out of a pipe, thinking they were bathroom plumbing pipes. Moe was always hitting someone for being stupid or impersonating Hitler. But… Larry?

He was always there, but…

 And then of course, there’s Larry the Cable Guy. One wonders if he’s ever really installed Cable. I haven’t seen him do it. Have you?

 Larry Bird of course. Who could forget a face like that… 

Then, Larry Hagman

The rest of my google results only yielded a bunch of old white guys two black, and one Asian, none of whom I recognized, and Michele Obama while on Larry King, but none of Larry King himself until a bit later, which I find interesting.

Do you know any Larrys we should all know about??

11 thoughts on “#atozchallenge – Larrys

  1. Okay, first off no fair that you’re drinking while I slave away at work. LOL. I don’t know too many Larrys, but I like your choices. I find Larry the Cableguy hilarious, even if he never has installed cable.

  2. I’m not a huge fan of the three stooges but Curly is about the only one that I can stand of all three and then Moe comes second. Larry just creeps me out, lol. I know a few Larrys, none of whom you’d be familiar with because they are just random people that I’m either related to or associate with from time to time.Larry King and Larry Bird are some of the first famous “Larrys” that come to mind, both of which you already mentioned, so let’s see if there are any others. Hmm…I’m coming up short, so after a brief inquiry with Master Google, I managed to quickly notice a Larry that I am a little too familiar with…Larry FlyntNow while I don’t know much about Hustler magazine, I learned about Mr. Flynt when I purchased the screenplay for “The People vs. Larry Flynt” starring Woody Harrelson. To this day, I still haven’t watched the movie and the script was one of very few that the bookstore had in stock at the time so I didn’t have much to choose from.Cheers!~NicoleBlog: The Madlab Post*My recent A to Z Challenge posts are K for Karma; L for Love; M for Matrimony*@MadlabPost on TwitterP.S. Yeah, I’m one of those bazillions who wrote about Love, however, my L post features tidbits on a charity and also talks about a woman who had a stroke in February 2012 and a girl who lost her best friend to suicide…so, um my Love post isn’t all bread and roses 😉

  3. I’ve know more than a few Larrys in my time. I went to high school with one. In college I knew about five. And I’ve worked with at least another five Larrys.There’s Larry Larr, the old-school rapper and producer. Larry Page is a co-founder of Google. There’s Larry David, without whom Jerry Seinfeld would still be a semi-famous standup comedian.And how could you forget Larry Elmore, one of the most famous fantasy artists ever?!

Leave a Reply

