Samuel Adams Summer Ale

Brew Style: American Pale Wheat Ale
Brewer: Boston Beer Company
ABV: 5.3%
BrewNewb Opinion: Decent Beer

It’s a well known (or at least an over-expressed) fact that I enjoy dark, hoppy, bitter beers… This is definitely NOT these things.

I had Samuel Adams’ Summer Ale for the first time YEARS ago, back when I really wasn’t much of a beer drinker. I used to drink only Bud, because I found Bud LIGHT “too bitter”… Things have changed QUITE a bit since then.

Back then, I really didn’t care for this beer, and just kinda wrote it off until recently when someone brought over a 12 pack of it, and left 8… Sure not going to let this go to waste, and my tastes have changed since then, so I thought it was a great time for a review.

I don’t particularly like wheat beers as a general rule, but I can appreciate their composition. There’s room for most beers, I believe.

As I cracked this beer, I got a whiff of lemon, perhaps a little orange, and wheat. I’d have to say a beer that says “brewed with lemon peel and grains of paradise” should probably smell exactly the way it does. No surprises here.

Pours light orange, maybe a slightly amber yellow. Small head, perhaps a finger and a half width.

Smells still like Lemon.

The taste is cold, crisp, and light… slightly sour at the back of the tongue. No real hops I can speak of, although there’s a little bit in the burp. I taste a bit of corn, but I had popcorn earlier, so maybe that’s conflicting. Tastes a bit like miller light.

I can definitely see this being something I would drink during the summer, when the sun is blazing, and the humidy is up, and the air is chewy, and I’m mowing the lawn and need a beer that is light and still a beer… I’d rather have this than the big name mass produced light beers.

This is not the kind of beer I’d reach for if I had my druthers, but it’s not bad.

Leave a Reply

