Wassail by Full Sail

Alright, so I’ve done a handful of these reviews tonight, but I feel like I’m still in good shape, but if you disagree with me here, go ahead and chalk it up to the alcohol.

I’ve never heard of a wassail, but apparently it’s a real word! Apparently, from what I read over here, it’s a sort of fruity punchy thing that people drank around the holidays.

Learn something new every day, eh?

And here I pop the cap:

Uh… twist off… Um. OK…

Smells very malty.

Pours very dark brown.

First sip is malty and sour. The Alcohol is very apparent, as it’s 7%. It’s really kinda all I can taste.

So like I said before, I’ve never had a Wassail before. I don’t know how this measures up against others of the same sort, but from the wiki article, I expected something a little sweeter and less syrupy and sour. I can understand how it got there though if it was brewed with all the fruit the article suggests it may have been.

If I were looking for a beer, I probably wouldn’t reach for this one. I would go for this if I was told I had to have something dark and heavy with thick sour alcohol taste.

All in all, it’s not bad, but I wouldn’t think of it when thinking “Beer”. Still better than fizzy yellow beer.

Leave a Reply

