Magic Hat Black IPA

Brew Style: Black IPA
Brewer: Magic Hat
ABV: 6%
BrewNewb Opinion: Decent Beer

I love stouts and IPAs, so I figure, how can a hybrid be bad?

I poured this into my Samuel Adams, perfect pint glass, and it poured well, an inch and a half of head.

Smells like a good stout. I’m aware of the lack of IPA smell though.

Next to no carbonation.

Sort of a sticky sweetness to the taste, not a whole lot of hops. Tastes more like a black lager to me, than a black IPA.

Still though, not a bad beer… I’ll give this one a “decent” rating.

I’m not blown away by this beer, given that it was called a black IPA. I love IPA… It was not even close to my definition of an IPA, black or otherwise. BUT. I do like it.

Leave a Reply

