A Few Food Related Gripes

Last week I ventured out into the unseasonably warm night to get some food for the family. They’re partial to Chow Mien sandwiches, which I had never heard of. It’s basically chicken chow mien in a Styrofoam container. They put the bottom of the hamburger bun in the container, dump the chow mien in, and put the top… well on top.

Truth be told, they’re not bad. You hear all the time from Chinese people how American Chinese food is nothing like REAL Chinese food, (assuming your Chinese friends are real Chinese people. Doesn’t matter if they’re a real friend or not, I’m sure they’d tell you the same thing regardless of their social connection to you) and it’s true.

Some of my favorite meals were in China Town in Boston that I ordered from menus I couldn’t read. We’d go down there maybe twice a week when I worked in Boston. One of the guys in the department was (and I imagine still is) Chinese. He’d always steer you right too. I can’t say I’d say the same if the tables were reversed. You know how much tripe and what not is on the real Chinese menus?

I did once question what was in the “Seafood” soup, to which he replied “Seafood, don’t ask, just put it in your mouth and eat it.” Can’t argue with that logic.

Contrary to the American version of Chinese food, I always felt GOOD and FULL after eating the authentic stuff, instead of feeling shitty AND stuffed, and yet… still hungry. I guess we Americans gravitate toward that sort of thing though, Darwin only knows why, and what Americanizes things better than a hamburger bun, honestly?

Anyway, I didn’t feel like it, so I went for the American version of horrible food, and stopped at Wendy’s. One meal, cost me ten bucks! It wasn’t even then triple (bypass) burger either. I could have gone next door to Ruby Tuesdays and for the same price plus a twenty minute wait, I could have a half pound of Angus beef cooked to order… Only advantage Wendy’s had was that I didn’t have to get out of my car and I got it right then and there. Of course, I’d have waited at the bar, and spent more money, but…

And boy, how much like a lazy slob does that last paragraph make me sound, huh?

I complained once before about Subway, and a snarky girl telling me “We have no small drinks, only medium or large”, but I somehow lost that post. I think if you look though, you’ll find at least two other posts complaining about how I once complained about Subway and can’t find it…

I hadn’t been back to Subway since then, until tonight. I went and among other things I ordered a Steak and Cheese for myself. The picture on the menu had to be at least a side of beef on a bun. What came, was maybe one and a half “Steak ‘Ums”.

This sub was so lacking, that I opened it up, and tore off one side. I was able to fold the remaining side around the steak, cheese, peppers and onions. No wonder Jared lost weight. I wish I’d have noticed while she was assembling the sub, cause I’d have told her to keep it. I figured since I was home I’d eat it. It tasted alright, and I needed a blog subject anyway.

This was a rare occasion where you’d actually have gotten less calories from the food that cost the least, but most of the time, it’s just so much cheaper to eat garbage, isn’t it? Eating healthy is expensive! I don’t do new years resolutions, so it’s not one, but I am going to make a conscious decision to change my eating habits.

Hell if nothing else, it’ll make for some interesting blog entries…

Thoughts?

4 thoughts on “A Few Food Related Gripes

  1. I got the shock of a lifetime tonight ….. I opened a bag of popcorn and made the mistake of reading the label. PC natural flavour popcorn 150 calories per HALF bag. So much for thinking popcorn was a safe snack. We are making an effort to not eat out quite so often. So far, this is day 9 of no eating out. Someone send take out…pleeeeassse.

  2. A lot of Chinese food makes me sick, so i stick to lemon chicken. Seems okay. When you said you were at Wendy’s and it was next to Ruby’s, a Chinese restaurant, I thought you lived in my home town. But nope, you don’t. We just have the same restaurants next to each other.

  3. I’ve got a post much like this one building in the back of my mind; unlike *some* people, I’ll just put that on my own site instead of hijacking this one. ;)I’ve been eating a lot healthier over the last several months; if you end up back at Subway’s again, I recommend the Sweet Onion Chicken Teriyaki. Add tomaters, red onions, spinach, and there are a couple of “dressings” that add good flavor and very few calories. I love that sandwich.

  4. Dude, like so many others I have made New Years resolutions and I’ve even kept to one of them pretty good (drinking less pop). I am supposed to go in and get my 40 year old checkup though, and I just haven’t yet. I’m not avoiding it or whatever, but I keep finding reasons not to go or I just forget to go. So I probably need to adjust what I eat, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’ll do it tomorrow. Yeah, that’s it.

Leave a Reply

