Ah, Om Nom, ah… Om Nom Nom.

It’s cold. Today, as I sit in my home office, an unfinsihed room with no heat where I threw some desks and an internet connection, it is 55°F. I’m wearing jeans, t-shirt, sweatshirt, thick cotton socks, slippers, and a fleece bathrobe. I am comfortable, save for my fingers, which I could cover with gloves, but that would make typing too difficult.

My continuous trips to the kitchen for cups of coffee keep me moving, and the coffee does a good job of warming, if I don’t let it sit too long (i.e. 4 mintues).

I received an email from a good friend of mine this morning that turned my thoughts to food, as my thoughts are frequently apt to do anyway. With his permission, I’ll share said email with you:

Man, days like this I only want stew or chowder. It’s fall so typically I really only want crock pot food…a thick beef or chicken stew with a biscuit…yeah…

When I eat chowder I like to pretend that I’m a grizzled old fisherman down in the hold of a boat during a cold rain.

When I eat stew it’s more of being in a remote mountain cabin next to a fireplace in a blustery snow.

In the chilly morning mental haze of my mind, my first reaction was “No.”

But then, as the neurons began to warm up the folds of my brain that hadn’t yet thawed out, I realized that yes! Yes there are, and that was really a fun question.

I almost wish I could start this part of the post with “When I was a kid, I used to” but it would only be half honest. Perhaps it started as a kid, but truth be told, I still do it.

My imagination isn’t quite as detail orientented as my friend from the email above. I never really filled in the background, or thought about the environment around me. I was more focused on the food I guess. I know, shocker, right?

Broccoli is one of the least liked veggies for kids. I, however, loved it. I used to (and now that I have kids, frequently do again, pretend that they were little tiny trees, and I was a huge dinosaur, eating the trees.

Another food imagination that only worked if I was gigantic is crunchy cheetos. I was devouring a bag of them one day, when I realized that they were shaped like a very small tree branch, which could be wielded as a club by a very small caveman.

These G.I. Joe sized (and apparently invisible) cavemen would grab a cheesy orange club and… well, fly up to my face, I guess, and swing with all their might. To their dismay, I, the giant or dragon or something, would chomp their weapon to the handle. Like a villian throwing an empty gun at superman after just unloading their clip (which amusingly if you recall, he’d duck the gun, after just standing in a spray of bullets…) the cavemen would throw the useless nub of their club at my face, which, of course, I’d eat.

Undeterred, the cavemen would return to the armory (bag) and re-arm to come back for more. Cheeto-cavemen weren’t bright enough to realize that doing the same thing over and over would produce the same results.

And so now, it’s your turn. I ask you: Any foods you eat that invoke your imagination?

9 thoughts on “Ah, Om Nom, ah… Om Nom Nom.

  1. Haaaaaaaaaaaaaa! You OD’d on coffee, y’know, I mean, how else did you write this post?Sweet Sam believes all mushrooms began life as a moth (it scares the bejesus out of him if he finds one on his plate). Oh, and everyone knows tapioca is just frog-spawn warmed through. Other than that, um, sorry, nope, you’re on your own here, buddy.. (just sloping off to dial those nice men in the white coats for you)

  2. Hah! Is there ever really such a thing as too much coffee?? :DMoths huh? I hate those things. I remember once seeing on TV, a moth had flown into the ear of a baseball player, and ever since, I get the heebie jeebies when any bug flies around near my head… But mushrooms?? They’re one of my favs! I like to order “Fungus pizza”… What’s funny about people telling kids not to play with food is they do things like “Here comes the air plane, open the hangar!” and such. I always picture the kid replying “You started it!”

  3. Hey! You fooled me! With your nom nom!I thought it was a post about zombies! hee heeAnd for the record, eating spaghetti reminds me of zombies because you know spaghetti noodles reminds me of… well you know…BRAINZ!*smile*

  4. ^^I can’t eat Bugles without sticking them on my fingers and turning them into witch’s fingernails. Also, I love eating food out of cans around the fireplace so I can pretend I’m homeless. As an unemployed writer, it’s not far off.

  5. I did the broccoli/tree thang with my kids, too. It never worked, they still hated it.I must be imagination-deprived in my dotage; food only reminds me of places where I enjoyed it (like sushi:Tokyo) these days.

Leave a Reply

