Underplayed songs by overplayed artists

It’s no secret that I’m a big music fan/snob. There are bands that I will summarily ignore when they come on the radio, and these days I find myself changing the station (I know, I need XM. I’m a little behind. So shoot me) even when it’s a band I like, just because the song is over played.

I find it a shame that people think “Oh yeah, I know Led Zeppelin, Stairway! Woo!” or “Queen, yeah, We will rock you!” While yes, these songs may be enjoyable, there is so much more to these bands than what people get out of these songs alone.

Here are some songs from such artists that don’t get the air-time that they should, in my opinion. Feel free to disagree with me.

1. Because I’d mentioned Led Zeppelin above, I thought I’d start with them.

When the Levee Breaks

Tangerine

2. Lynyrd Skynyrd, again because I mentioned it above, and I think they’re grossly misrepresented by Free Bird and Sweet Home Alabama.

The Ballad of Curtis Lowe. Excellent sing-a-long-ability.

I Need You. Great wailing guitar.

I know a little (OK, so this one gets a little play time, but really… I don’t do anything as well as these guys play the guitar in this tune.) If I were a fast dancing fellow, this is the stuff I’d be dancing to.

3. Jimi Hendrix. Everyone knows Purple Haze, Foxy Lady, and All Along the Watch Tower, but one of my favorites, though it may get some air time is a little less known.

Little Wing

4. Aerosmith. I am a big Aerosmith fan, but I get a little tired of the stuff that’s played constantly on the radio. I like to reach back a bit to some of their first hits.

Mia

Seasons of Wither

Walkin’ the Dog

Got any of your own favorite underplayed songs by over played artists??

One thought on “Underplayed songs by overplayed artists

  1. Funny you mention it … Because all of the songs you’ve mentioned … I absolutely love! I couldn’t agree more with your suggestions and Walkin’ The Dog by Aerosmith is one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

