Say what?

I’ve always found it funny when I realize I’ve been singing the wrong words to a particular song. I thought I’d share some of them!

Disclaimer: I apologize if I ruin any of these songs for anyone, cause chance are once you’re looking for the wrong lyric, you’ll hear it every time.

*****************************
Of course, there’s the class Jimi Hendrix song, Purple Haze
The Lyric: “S’cuse me while I kiss the sky!”
My Version: “S’cuse me while I kiss this guy!”
*****************************
Elton John’s Tiny Dancer had a couple…
The Lyric: “Hold me closer, tiny dancer.”
My Version: “Hold me closer, Tony Danza.”
AND
The Lyric: “Count the head lights on the highway.”
My Version: “Count the head lice on the highway.”
*****************************
Allanis Morrisette’s man-hater song You Oughta Know
The Lyric: “It’s not fair to deny me the cross I bear that you gave to me”
My Version: “It’s not fair to deny me the cross eyed bear that you gave to me”. 

Not sure what I thought there, I figured the guy gave her a teddy bear and it was cross eyed, but he took it when he left?? /shrug

*****************************
Tom Petty’s Free Fallin’
They Lyric: “I’m a bad boy, cause I don’t even miss her. And I’m a bad boy for breakin’ her heart.”
My Version: “I’m a bad boy, cause I don’t even miss her. And I’m a bad boy for breakin’ her arm.”
*****************************
The Police Spirits In The Material World
The Lyric: “We are spirits, in the material world.”
My Version: “We’re asparagus, in the material world.”
*****************************
The Police’s Message In A Bottle
The Lyric: “A year has passed since I wrote my note.”
My Version: “A year has passed since I broke my nose”
*****************************
The Verve Pipe Freshmen
The Lyric: “For the life of me, I could not believe we’d ever die for these sins, we were merely freshmen.”
My Version: “For the life of me, I could not believe we’d ever die forty cents, we were merely freshmen.”
*****************************

Ok, so there’re a few that come to mind right now, I’m sure there are more, but please chime in with some of your own, so I know I’m not the only one!

8 thoughts on “Say what?

  1. Mondegreens!!! I love mondegreens.One of my favorites is from the Pledge of Allegiance:”I led the pigeons to the flag…”then there’s Creedence Clearwater Revival’s, “There’s a bathroom on the right.”

  2. Your mind works (I use the term loosely) in a strangely weird, yet wonderful way – how the hell you came up with half of this stuff is hysterical! For some reason I always thought “Spirit in the sky” sung, when I die and I lay me to rest, gonna’ go to the place of the vest..I never did understand about that place.

  3. I just remembered another… The Rolling stones sang, ” Hey! You! Get offa my cloud!” I always thought they said “Get offa my plow!”I figger if I got some plowing to do, I don’t need someone leaning up against it, gettin in my way, you know?

  4. MY WIFE hears this line from “Highway Star” by Deep Purple…”Nobody gonna take my girl, she stays close on every bend.”as…”Nobody gonna take my girl, she eats coleslaw every day.”

  5. The only one I can think of at the moment that I always did is:Def Leppard’s “Pour Some Sugar On Me”Chorus/Title of song – “Pour some sugar on me”my version: pour some shook up ramen”

Leave a Reply

